Nikhil's Blog

Finding time to write

The biggest excuse writers give is that they don’t have time to write often. George R.R. Martin, the creator of the Game of Thrones book series, once asked Stephen King in amazement, “How the fuck do you get time to write so many books?” I remember this question because I had the same one for Stephen King.

If that wasn't enough, King also reads a lot of books each year. He writes well, reads a lot, and finds time to watch numerous movies. He mentioned this during a two-hour interview. It’s mind-boggling to digest. It’s easy to say he writes like a machine or that he’s a pro.

But what does being a pro feel like? What does being a prolific writer mean?

I’m not discussing its literal meaning; I want to explore the emotional side of being a prolific writer. This is important if you want to write consistently despite your schedule. I am a working professional, and there are months when I have to work through weekends, 7 days a week, 10-12 hours a day. So, when I talk about writing in a busy schedule, I know what I mean.

Even with a busy schedule, I continued writing. I was frustrated, often exhausted, and had barely any time for my family. Yet, I wrote a lot of blogs. I don’t have superpowers; I just love writing. Every time I had a thought, I wrote it down in my Apple Notes. During my commute or while waiting for files to process, I would open the note and expand on the idea. Like this one.

I write all my blogs as if I’m talking to a friend, so for me, it’s not writing; it’s explaining the core idea to a friend in as few words as possible.

I love to write—stories, blogs, tweets. I write about everything under the sun. I am an acute observer of my failings and the fallacies of the world, so I am never short of opinions, observations, and therefore content ideas. I pick up the phone and start writing.

Don’t postpone your writing until you are at your desk. Your smartphone is enough. Your desk is where you come to edit what you wrote. There’s something else I do often: before I leave for work every morning, I spare 15-20 minutes to write an idea. The 15-minute timer ensures that I cover all the essential points and don’t waste time setting up the context. I jump straight to the heart of the idea.

Don’t dwell too much on proofreading. You might think your sentences suck, but I have made spelling mistakes and still managed to release polished versions. I can tell you from experience that whatever inhibitions you have aren’t important.

If you love writing, you don't need to be relaxed to do it. The act of writing should be enough to give you pleasure. Even after 12 hours of work, if writing makes you happy, then you are made for it; otherwise, it was just a pastime. Quality writing requires boredom, relaxation, and long walks, but it often comes from irrational ideas, epiphanies, and shower thoughts.

It’s not important what you write or where you write; what matters is that you write. Don’t think too much.

A shitty draft is better than no draft.

Just write. Get it done.